Security - Check Permissions

MFDF - Mutual Fund Directors Forum - SEC Announces Agenda and Panelists for June 2 Market Structure Roundtable

Member Login

Request an account

Sample Banner 2

SEC Announces Agenda and Panelists for June 2 Market Structure Roundtable

The SEC has announced the agenda and panelists for tomorrow's public roundtable on securities market structure issues. According to the the SEC's announcement, the roundtable will center around discussions of key market structure issues, including high-frequency trading, undisplayed liquidity and the appropriate metrics for evaluating market structure performance. Panelists will include representatives of retail and institutional investors, issuers, exchanges, alternative trading systems, financial services firms, high frequency traders, and the academic community.

The June 2 roundtable will be held at the SEC's Washington, DC headquarters, located at 100 F Street NE, and is scheduled to start at 9:30AM. The event will be webcast live at and an archive of the webcast will be made available for later viewing.


9:30AM Opening Statement from SEC Chairman Mary L. Schapiro

9:45AM Panel One - Market Stucture Performance and Price Volatility

  • Ian Domowitz, Managing Director, Investment Technology Group
  • Charles Jones, Professor of Finance and Economics, Columbia Business School of Columbia University
  • Christopher Nagy, Managing Director-Order Routing Strategy, TD Ameritrade
  • Joseph Ratterman, President & Chief Executive Officer, BATS Exchange
  • Richard Rosenblatt, Chief Executive Officer, Rosenblatt Securities
  • Stephen Sachs, Director of Trading, Diamond Hill Investments
  • Timothy Sargent, Chief Executive Officer, Quantitative Services Group
  • Gus Sauter, Chief Investment Officer, Vanguard Group

11:45AM Panel Two - High Frequency Trading

  • Sal Arnuk, Partner, Themis Trading
  • Kevin Cronin, Director of Global Equity Trading, Invesco
  • David Cushing, Director of Global Equity Trading, Wellington Management Company
  • Michael Goldstein, Professor of Finance, Babson College
  • Richard Gorelick, Chief Executive Officer, RGM Advisors
  • Mark Grier, Vice Chairman, Prudential Financial
  • Terrence Hendershott, Associate Professor of Finance and Operations and Information Technology Management, Haas School of Business, University of CA at Berkeley
  • Stephen Schuler, Chief Executive Officer, GETCO
  • Jeffrey Wecker, President & Chief Executive Officer, Lime Brokerage

2:30PM Panel Three - Undisplayed Liquidity

  • Brian Conroy, Senior Vice President & Head of Global Equity Trading, Fidelity Management and Research Company
  • Larry Leibowitz, Chief Operating Officer, NYSE Euronext
  • Dan Mathisson, Managing Director & Head of Advanced Execution Services, Credit Suisse Securities
  • Seth Merrin, President & Chief Executive Officer, Liquidnet
  • Eric Noll, Executive Vice President-Transaction Services, NASDAQ OMX Group
  • William O'Brien, Chief Executive Officer, Direct Edge
  • Mark Ready, Professor of Finance, Investment and Banking, Wisconsin School of Business
  • Andrew Silverman, Managing Director & Global Co-Head, Morgan Stanley Electronic Trading

4:30PM End of Program

The full text of the Commission's announcement and agenda are available at: