Security - Check Permissions

MFDF - Mutual Fund Directors Forum - Investor Advisory Committee to Hold Public Meeting

Member Login

Request an account

Sample Banner 2

Investor Advisory Committee to Hold Public Meeting

The SEC announced yesterday that it would hold a meeting of the newly formed Investor Advisory Committee.  This meeting is to be held on July 27, 2009 in the Auditorium (Room L-002) at the SEC's Headquarters located at 100 F Street NW in Washington, DC, and will start at 10:00AM.  The meeting is open to the public, and will be webcast via a link on the SEC's website,

As we mentioned in our June 5, 2009 post on the Investor Advisory Committee, the advisory council was formed by the Commission to give investors greater voice in the Commission's activities by:
  • advising it on matters of concern to investors in the securities markets;
  • providing the Commission with investors' perspectives on current, non-enforcement, regulatory issues; and
  • serving as a source of information and recommendations to the Commission regarding the Commission's regulatory programs from the point of view of investors. 
The Investor Advisory Committee is comprised of Commissioner Luis A. Aguilar, who serves as the Commission's primary sponsor, and co-chaired by Richard (Mac) Hisey, President of AARP Financial Incorporated and AARP Funds, and Hye-Won Choi, Senior Vice President and Head of Corporate Governance for TIAA-CREF. Fred Joseph, President of the North American Securities Administrators Association and Securities Administrator for the State of Colorado, serves as an ex officio participant.

The SEC's announcement does not contain any details of the topics to be covered at this first open meeting of the Investor Advisory Committee, but the SEC does invite statements and/or comments to be submitted through the SEC's normal comment channels.

The Commission staff will post all statements and comments on the Advisory Committee’s Web site at:

The full text of the SEC's announcement of the July 27, 2009 Advisory Committee meeting is available at:

Related article: